Return to Headlines

CHS National Art Honor Society Inducts Second Class

CHS National Art Honor Society Inducts Second Class Launched this past year, the Cheltenham chapter of the National Art Honor Society (NAHS) inducted its second class on Tuesday, Jan. 28. To gain induction, members must complete service hours and hold at least a 3.0 GPA. Members are strongly encouraged to take one art class and hold a B average in that course. 

“Art is an experience that anyone can provide so It is a privilege to sponsor the Cheltenham High School National Art Honor Society,” said Carlos Nunez. “As an educator and fine artist, I find it awesome to see young artists providing this level of commitment to the arts.”

Following Nunez’ opening remarks at the induction, NAHS Treasurer Isabelle Beatus and President Laura Darling made remarks before announcing this year’s inductees. The remainder of the group leadership representing its more than 20 members includes Kyra Quigley (vice president), Abby Tabas (secretary) and historians Genevieve Gorman, Elin McLaughlin, Dominique Vidal and Katie Denyer.

This class of inductees included James Beatus, Abbey Bowers, Avery Cartwright, Brenna Farley, Emily Grassi, Elisabeth Kokorin, Madison Liang, Farren Lefitt, Shannia McBryde, Maya Nathanson, Angia Nguyen, Hannah Stanley, Henry Sywulak-Herr, Kevin Tieu, Savannah Vidal, Melena Walter and Robyn Walter.

In 1978, the National Art Education Association began the NAHS to inspire and recognize students who have shown an outstanding ability and interest in art. With nearly 60,000 members, the program supports members in their efforts to attain the highest standards in art scholarship, character and service and to bring art education to the attention of the school and community.