Return to Headlines

National Honor Society Inducts New Members

NHS Induction Ceremony The Cheltenham chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) admitted 45 new members at the 96th annual NHS Induction ceremony Thursday evening at the Little Theatre at CHS. Seven seniors and 38 juniors were among those to gain entry to the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students.

“I’m thrilled to help celebrate those scholars who embody character, scholarship, service and leadership and have made a commitment to their education, school and community,” said CHS Principal Ray McFall in his opening remarks.

Following McFall’s remarks, each NHS officer took to the podium to speak about one of those admirable traits, with induction chair Corinne Packel speaking about service; vice president Abe Moss talking about scholarship, secretary Tommy Scott focusing on leadership; and president Jessica Scheck taking character.

Sandwiched between Moss and Scott, Social Studies teacher Jonathan Manser served as the guest speaker and lauded the members and inductees for their foresight in focusing on their education, saying, “we are really here to celebrate one of the wisest and most impactful decisions that you will ever make – to prioritize your education. You have made the wise choice and you are now beginning to reap the incalculable wealth that an education provides. Not just monetary wealth, but the wealth of opportunity and experience.”

Following Schenk’s comments, NHS Advisor Holly Gloeckler read the roll call of inductees and Schenk led them in the NHS pledge, I pledge to uphold the high purposes of the National Honor Society to which I have been selected; I will be true to the principles for which it stands; I will be loyal to my school; and will maintain and encourage high standards of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.”

Inductees | Seniors: Therina Bui, Austin Chao, Sabine Costa, Alice Fodor, Ellie Hollo, Aaron Putterman and Lan Dinh Thuy. Juniors Naomi Aires, Ifenna Amaefuna, Uzoya Arebamen, Isabelle Beatus, Nadiyah Bell, Aaron Blower, Emily Chao, Ila Charendoff, Jacob Chase, Cara Fields, Emma Fishbein, Quran Frazier, Samantha Goldberg, Genevieve Gorman, Nathan Kirschner, Hannah Koval, Lou Liedtka, Samuel Liss, Linda Lo, Christopher Luk, Colin McLaughlin, Alyssa Michel, Andrew Moreland, Sarah Neulight, Chinyelu Ojukwu, Sara Parker, Ashley Peavy, Kyra Quigley, Bethany Rutkowski, Atara Saunders, Oren Schwartz, Penelope Shaw, Nancy Sohlberg, Serena Sohmen, Cecilia Steel, Henry Sywulak-Herr, Abby Tabas and Emily Warden