Return to Headlines

National Honor Society Induction

NHS Inductees(December 9, 2022) The Cheltenham chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) recently admitted 17 new members at its annual induction ceremony. One senior and four juniors and 12 sophomores were among those to gain entry to the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students.

Following a welcome from induction chair Jordan Harris and remarks from Principal Jimmy D’Andrea, each NHS officer took to the podium to speak about one of four pillars of the NHS. Harris spoke about service; vice president Lydia Hessel-Robinson took scholarship; secretary River Somerville spoke about character; and president Lucy Trott remarked on leadership.

Sandwiched between Hessel-Robinson and Somerville, English teacher Ishbara Acosta served as the guest speaker and lauded the members and inductees for their foresight in focusing on their education.

Following Trott’s comments, NHS Advisor Holly Gloeckler read the roll call of inductees and Trott led them in the NHS pledge, “I pledge to uphold the high purposes of the National Honor Society to which I have been selected; I will be true to the principles for which it stands; I will be loyal to my school; and will maintain and encourage high standards of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.”

Inductees | Senior: Keyan Parker Jr. Juniors: Diandra Dunkley, Chase Harrison, Asante Johnson, Soila Portnoy. Sophomores: Quinn Durso, Dahlia Free, AJ Gordon, June Pezalla-Granlund, Isaac Halpern, Addison Lee, Jeslyn Oppong, Alice Sullivan, Marcos Trojan, Nathan Homa, Lily Wilden, Brianna Wilson