Return to Headlines

Four Students Earn Inaugural McGuire Scholarship

scholarship recipients(October 13, 2023) Senior singers Ijeoma Ojukwu (alto) and Myles Daniels (bass) and sophomores Mason Williams (violin) and Anastasia Owens (piano) have been named the inaugural recipients of the Ian McGuire Music Scholarship, each earning $1,000 to nurture their musical talents by receiving lessons or participating in music programs.

The students won the scholarships based on their display of exceptional musical talent and dedication. CHS Music Department Chair Matt Berntsen assisted in determining this year’s recipients, with students submitting impactful essays with their applications.

“I know I speak for my colleagues—Matt Hoy (Orchestra Director) and Maddy Parkes (CHS Vocal Arts Director)—that being able to provide students with the opportunity to greatly enhance their musical learning experience through lessons will help them immensely,” Berntsen told the Glenside Local. “Not only will these students grow into better musicians, but their peers around them will benefit, and in turn, our entire music program at CHS will as well.”

A 2001 graduate of Cheltenham and 2005 graduate of the prestigious Berklee College of Music, McGuire was an accomplished musician and dedicated piano teacher. Through his various musical projects and mentoring, he left an indelible mark on the music community in the Philadelphia region.

The Ian McGuire Music Scholarship Fund (IMMSF) was founded in 2022. Initiated and established by Dennis McGuire, Derek Haviland, and Justin Berger with funds donated in Ian McGuire’s memory to continue his life’s work and legacy.